Nine of the 11 makers compared here limit their warranty to the original purchaser, owner or "original customer," and none says coverage passes to a later owner. Lifetime terms appear at 6 of the 11, mostly on burners, and only 2 of those 6 say what "lifetime" means.
This study compares the warranty documents each maker publishes. It is not a ranking, and a warranty's exact text controls, so read the one that ships with your product. Firepit HQ does not sell any of these brands yet, and nothing here describes a relationship with any of them. This is not legal advice.
How the Warranties Were Read
I read the current warranty text on each maker's own site on October 9, 2026. Seven build fire pits, fire tables or bowls: The Outdoor Plus, HPC Fire Inspired, Prism Hardscapes, Firegear, Bull Outdoor Products, Ohio Flame and Real Flame. Four build patio heaters: Infratech, Bromic Heating, Heatstrip and Lava Heat Italia. The sources list names every document.
"Not stated" means the document I read says nothing on that point, not that the maker has no policy, because a manual or a dealer agreement may say more. Terms are in years, residential first and commercial second, and one number means one term for every use.
Two makers are left out: Schwank, whose site gives terms by product line but no conditions, and Outdoor GreatRoom, whose warranty page was not part of this read. Firegear's warranty page shows no text in the page itself. It embeds a two-page Limited Warranty for products made after January 1, 2026, and the table uses that document.
Fire Pit, Fire Table and Fire Bowl Warranties Compared
Terms are listed part by part, so the Term column shows the headline terms only.
Maker, Term, residential / commercial, Who is covered, Registration, Excluded, Claims and proof, Other makers' parts
The Outdoor Plus
- Term, residential / commercial
- Burner ring and bars: lifetime. Pans: 5 years / 1 year. Fire pits, bowls, fireplaces: 1 year. Starts at the maker's original sale or shipment, per the PDF; its registration page says delivery
- Who is covered
- Claims from its "original customer"; original owner only; does not transfer
- Registration
- Offered; its page says the warranty runs from delivery, not registration
- Excluded
- Natural weathering of copper and corten; surface rust on stainless; custom products; improper installation, storage or maintenance; installation labor
- Claims and proof
- The maker, by return authorization; original purchase information required
- Other makers' parts
- Its ignitions must go on its own products; separately bought ignition systems not covered
HPC Fire Inspired
- Term, residential / commercial
- Stainless burners: lifetime / lifetime. Stainless components: 5 years / 1 year. Enclosures, Copper Bowl Series: 3 / 3. Starts at the maker's original sale or shipment. A kit manual gives stainless burner and pan 5 years / 1 year
- Who is covered
- Claims from its "original customer"; transfer not stated
- Registration
- Not stated
- Excluded
- Overheating, modification, abuse, improper storage, installation or maintenance; installation labor (kit manual). Copper bowls: "normal weathering expected"
- Claims and proof
- The maker, by return authorization; original purchase information required
- Other makers' parts
- Not stated
Prism Hardscapes
- Term, residential / commercial
- 2 years. Its FAQ mentions a separate burner warranty; three manuals state one term
- Who is covered
- Not stated
- Registration
- Its FAQ says the manual covers it; the three manuals read do not
- Excluded
- Misuse, user error, installation error, abuse, repair, alteration; wood or other fuel voids it; report damage within 48 hours of delivery
- Claims and proof
- Dealer or Prism; proof of purchase and delivery date; buyer arranges shipping of the replacement
- Other makers' parts
- Not stated
Firegear
- Term, residential / commercial
- Made after January 1, 2026. Stainless burners and pans, Pro Series burners, burner system construction defects: lifetime / 2 years. Sanctuary GFRC structure: 3 / 3. Kalea Bay and accessories: lifetime / lifetime on construction defects and stainless components. Starts at sale to the end user
- Who is covered
- Original purchaser only; moving or reinstalling the unit not covered
- Registration
- Not stated
- Excluded
- GFRC stress cracks, crazing and discoloration; discoloration from overheating; exposure to chemicals including chlorine and salt; service labor; voided if not installed as intended
- Claims and proof
- Filed by the dealer or distributor account; bill of sale or payment record; out-of-box claims within 30 days, before installation
- Other makers' parts
- Not stated
Bull Outdoor Products
- Term, residential / commercial
- Fire features: 1 year on all parts. Starts at purchase
- Who is covered
- Original purchaser at the original site of delivery or installation; no later owner; commercial and rental use excluded
- Registration
- Offered by online portal; not made a condition
- Excluded
- Rust, corrosion, oxidation, discoloration; improper installation or use; wrong fuel; labor
- Claims and proof
- The maker, by phone or portal; proof of purchase not mentioned
- Other makers' parts
- Not stated
Ohio Flame
- Term, residential / commercial
- Lifetime on registered steel fire bowls, structure and welds
- Who is covered
- Registered bowls; owner and transfer not stated
- Registration
- Covers "registered" bowls; no method or deadline given
- Excluded
- Screens, grates, paint, finishes; patina called natural
- Claims and proof
- Not stated
- Other makers' parts
- Not stated
Real Flame
- Term, residential / commercial
- Outdoor tables and bowls: 1 year on body, internal parts, burner. GFRC tables and bowls: body 5 years, internal parts 2, burner system limited lifetime. Fire pits: 90 days. Starts at purchase
- Who is covered
- Original purchaser only, if bought through an authorized Real Flame dealer; non-transferable
- Registration
- Offered by an online form; the warranty PDFs do not mention it
- Excluded
- Cosmetic issues: scratches, dents, rust, oxidation, corrosion, heat discoloration; installation not to code or manual; labor
- Claims and proof
- The maker's customer service, troubleshooting first; proof of purchase required
- Other makers' parts
- Parts from other makers nullify it
Patio Heater Warranty Terms Side by Side
Maker, Term, residential / commercial, Who is covered, Registration, Excluded, Claims and proof, Other makers' parts
Infratech
- Term, residential / commercial
- 3 years from purchase
- Who is covered
- Original purchaser at the original site; ends on owner transfer or relocation
- Registration
- Required: card back within 30 days of purchase (PDF)
- Excluded
- Negligence, alteration, misuse, improper installation or operation; dings, dents, scratches
- Claims and proof
- Not stated; keep proof of purchase
- Other makers' parts
- Competitor controls or accessories may void it
Bromic Heating
- Term, residential / commercial
- From purchase, by line: Platinum Electric, Eclipse 3 years; Platinum Electric Marine 5 on land, 3 on vessels; Tungsten Electric 2 (elements 7); gas models 2; Tungsten Freestanding, controllers 1
- Who is covered
- Original owner only; transfer not stated
- Registration
- Not stated
- Excluded
- Gas hoses and igniters; labor, removal, reinstallation, shipping both ways
- Claims and proof
- The selling dealer or retailer, or another dealer of its products
- Other makers' parts
- Not stated
Heatstrip
- Term, residential / commercial
- Classic: 3 years / 2 years from purchase; the manual says its terms are for international customers
- Who is covered
- Original owner; transfer not stated
- Registration
- Online form offered; manual sets no requirement
- Excluded
- Surface discoloration; incorrect installation or power supply; site labor. Must be installed to the manual and electrical codes
- Claims and proof
- Claim form and proof of purchase; heater returned to the place of purchase
- Other makers' parts
- Not stated
Lava Heat Italia
- Term, residential / commercial
- Frame: lifetime, defined as the heater's working life with its original purchaser while the line or a comparable successor is in production. Parts and finish: 5 years. Burner and glass: 1 year. Same for residential and commercial; parts only. Starts at purchase
- Who is covered
- Original purchaser who bought new from the maker or an authorized dealer; not transferable; unauthorized resellers not warranted
- Registration
- Optional; not a condition
- Excluded
- Labor, freight; fading, chalking, scratches; surface oxidation and staining fall outside the frame term; glass impact and thermal shock; storms; use outside published clearances
- Claims and proof
- The maker, with proof of purchase and photos
- Other makers' parts
- Genuine parts fitted by others stay covered; a non-genuine part voids that component and what it damages
Findings From the Tables
Every count below can be checked against the two tables.
- Original purchaser only. 9 of 11 limit coverage to the original purchaser, owner or "original customer." Prism and Ohio Flame do not, in the text I read.
- No transfers. None of the 11 says coverage passes to a later owner. 5 say outright that it does not transfer or ends on transfer: The Outdoor Plus, Bull, Real Flame, Infratech and Lava Heat Italia.
- Seller and site. 2 tie coverage to buying through an authorized seller: Real Flame and Lava Heat Italia. 3 tie it to the original site or exclude moving the unit: Infratech, Bull and Firegear.
- Registration. 2 tie coverage to registering, Infratech and Ohio Flame, and only Infratech sets a deadline, 30 days from purchase. 5 offer registration without requiring it: The Outdoor Plus, Bull, Real Flame, Heatstrip and Lava Heat Italia. 3 do not mention it: HPC, Firegear and Bromic. Prism's FAQ says its manual covers registration, but the three manuals read do not.
- Where the clock starts. 2 start at the maker's original sale or shipment: The Outdoor Plus and HPC, though The Outdoor Plus's registration page says its warranty runs from the delivery date. 7 start at purchase or sale to the end user. 2 do not say: Prism and Ohio Flame.
- Residential and commercial. 4 publish separate terms, and in all 4 some commercial terms are shorter: The Outdoor Plus, HPC, Firegear and Heatstrip. Bull excludes commercial use, Lava Heat Italia applies one set of terms to both, and 5 draw no residential or commercial line.
- Lifetime. 6 have a lifetime term: The Outdoor Plus, HPC and Real Flame on burners, Firegear on burners, pans and construction defects, Lava Heat Italia on a frame, and Ohio Flame on a steel bowl. HPC's burner kit manual gives its burners 5 years residential instead. Only Lava Heat Italia and Ohio Flame say what lifetime means.
- Finish. 7 carve out color change, rust, oxidation, fading or finish. HPC lists its copper bowls with "normal weathering expected." The warranty terms from Prism, Bromic and Infratech do not mention rust, color or weathering.
- Labor and proof. 8 say installation or service labor is not covered, and 8 ask for proof of purchase or original purchase information.
- Who takes the claim. 3 route it through a dealer or the place of purchase: Bromic, Firegear and Heatstrip. 3 take it directly: Bull, Real Flame and Lava Heat Italia. 2 accept it only from the maker's "original customer": The Outdoor Plus and HPC. Prism accepts either route, and Infratech and Ohio Flame do not say.
- Installation. 9 exclude damage from improper installation or require installation to the manual, local code or published clearances.
- Other makers' parts. 4 have a clause: The Outdoor Plus on ignitions, Real Flame, Infratech on controls and accessories, and Lava Heat Italia on non-genuine parts.
What It Means for Your Purchase
Keep the Paperwork and Proof of Purchase
8 of the 11 ask for proof of purchase when you claim. Firegear names a bill of sale, canceled check or payment record, and Infratech says to keep the original proof of purchase to establish the warranty period. Infratech's card, Heatstrip's form and The Outdoor Plus's form each ask for the serial number, so write it down when the crate is opened. Inspect the delivery too: Prism wants visible damage reported within 48 hours.
Save a copy of the warranty that applies to your unit. Firegear's covers only products made after January 1, 2026, and Lava Heat Italia's page says it supersedes all prior versions. Real Flame's outdoor PDFs show no effective date, only the code 03022020 on each page.
Registering Your Fire Pit or Patio Heater
Register the week the unit arrives, because 2 of the 11 tie coverage to it. Infratech's PDF wants its card back within 30 days of purchase. Ohio Flame covers "registered" bowls and gives no method or deadline, so ask before you buy. The other 9 do not make registration a stated condition, and The Outdoor Plus says its warranty runs from delivery, not registration. I would still register wherever it is offered; the forms ask for the serial number and purchase date you should keep anyway.
Who Handles a Warranty Claim?
The documents split five ways: a dealer or the place of purchase, the maker, either, the maker's "original customer," or not stated. Neither The Outdoor Plus nor HPC defines "original customer." How a business that bought from the maker reads that wording is covered in the guide to MAP pricing and discount codes. The practical step is to ask the seller, before you pay, who files your claim, and whether the seller is authorized by the maker, since Real Flame and Lava Heat Italia make that a condition of coverage.
Do Fire Pit Warranties Cover Rust, Patina and Weathering?
Mostly not: 7 of the 11 carve out color change, rust, oxidation, fading or finish, and the wording varies. Copper and corten are the sharpest case. The Outdoor Plus says natural weathering of both is not warranted, and HPC lists its copper bowls with "normal weathering expected." No other maker's warranty text names either metal. Bull, Real Flame and Ohio Flame exclude rust, oxidation or finish in general terms, so expect a color change to sit outside the warranty. How each material ages is in the materials guide.
Install It to the Manual and Local Code
9 of the 11 exclude damage from improper installation or require installation to the manual, local code or published clearances. Heatstrip makes it a condition, Firegear voids its warranty if the unit is not installed as intended, and Lava Heat Italia excludes use outside its published clearances.
Before you buy, run the distances through the clearance checker, read your state's page in the fire code library and check the appliance's installation manual. Gas lines belong to a licensed gas fitter or plumber, and heater wiring to a licensed electrician.
Lifetime Warranties and What They Cover
Most lifetime terms sit on a named part: a burner, a frame or a steel bowl. Firegear goes further and lists lifetime on construction and manufacturer defects for its burner systems, Kalea Bay fireplaces and accessories, though the burner systems drop to 2 years in commercial use. HPC's two documents disagree: its warranty page lists stainless burners as lifetime, and its burner kit manual gives a stainless burner and pan 5 years residential and 1 year commercial, so get the term for your kit from HPC in writing.
Lava Heat Italia defines lifetime as the heater's working life with its original purchaser, for as long as the product line or a comparable successor stays in production, and says it is not a promise of perpetual replacement. Ohio Flame ties it to the steel not rusting through in your lifetime. The Outdoor Plus, HPC, Firegear and Real Flame use the word without defining it in the documents I read, so ask whose lifetime it is and which part it covers.
Before You Buy: A Warranty Checklist
- Get the warranty for your exact model, with its date, before you pay.
- Ask who files a claim: the seller, the maker, or the maker's "original customer."
- Ask whether the seller is authorized by the maker, and whether that affects coverage.
- Ask what "lifetime" covers and whose lifetime it is.
- Ask whether coverage transfers if you sell the house. None of the 11 says it does.
- For a restaurant or rental, start with the commercial terms; Bull excludes that use.
- Check the finish line if you are choosing copper, corten or unpainted steel.
- Register the week the unit arrives, keep the invoice and serial number, and have the installation checked against the manual and local code.
The tables summarize the documents, and the exact text controls.
Common Questions
Do fire pit warranties transfer to a new owner?
None of the 11 warranties compared says coverage passes to a later owner. Five say outright that it does not transfer or ends on transfer: The Outdoor Plus, Bull, Real Flame, Infratech and Lava Heat Italia. Four more limit coverage to the original purchaser, owner or 'original customer' without using transfer language, and two do not limit coverage to the original purchaser. If you are buying a house with a fire pit, ask the maker in writing.
Does a fire pit warranty cover rust, patina or fading?
Mostly not. Seven of the 11 makers carve out color change, rust, oxidation, fading or finish. Only The Outdoor Plus names copper and corten, and HPC lists its copper bowls with the note 'normal weathering expected.' The warranty terms from Prism, Bromic and Infratech do not mention rust, color or weathering, so ask them directly if the finish matters to you.
Do I have to register my fire pit or patio heater for the warranty?
Two of the 11 tie coverage to registration. Infratech's warranty PDF wants its card back within 30 days of purchase, and Ohio Flame covers 'registered' steel bowls without saying how or by when. Five makers, Lava Heat Italia among them, offer registration without making it a condition. Prism's FAQ says its manual covers registration, but the three manuals read do not. The documents from the other three makers do not mention it.
Who handles a fire pit warranty claim, the dealer or the maker?
It depends on the maker. Bromic, Firegear and Heatstrip route claims through a dealer or the place of purchase. Bull, Real Flame and Lava Heat Italia take claims themselves. The Outdoor Plus and HPC accept claims only from their 'original customer,' which neither defines. Prism accepts either route, and Infratech and Ohio Flame do not say.
What does a lifetime warranty on a fire pit cover?
Usually a named part: burners at The Outdoor Plus, HPC, Firegear and Real Flame (on its GFRC tables and bowls), the frame at Lava Heat Italia, and the steel bowl and welds at Ohio Flame. Firegear also lists lifetime on construction and manufacturer defects, and HPC's burner kit manual gives its burners 5 years residential instead. Only Lava Heat Italia and Ohio Flame say what lifetime means. Electronics, valves and ignition parts carry shorter terms.
Does installing a fire pit wrong void the warranty?
Nine of the 11 documents exclude damage from improper installation or require installation to the manual, local code or published clearances. Firegear says the warranty is voided if the unit is not installed as intended, and Prism's manual says improper installation voids it. Check clearances before you build, and use a licensed gas fitter or plumber for gas lines and a licensed electrician for heaters.
Sources
- The Outdoor Plus, 2025 Product Warranty (PDF): warranty periods, exclusions, original customer, RMA, non-transfer, third-party ignitions, cover adviceChecked
- The Outdoor Plus, Register Your Product page: warranty effective from delivery date, not registration dateChecked
- The Outdoor Plus, Warranty Claim Form page: ignition systems bought separately from a kit are not coveredChecked
- HPC Fire Inspired, Warranty Information page: outdoor fire effects chart, original customer, RMA, exclusions, local codesChecked
- HPC Fire Inspired, Burner Kits and Match Lit Kits manual (800-FP/FPS, 5/21): section 12 Limited Warranty, installation and enclosure notesChecked
- Prism Hardscapes, Tavola Series Installation Guide, Section 6 Warranty and installation warningsChecked
- Prism Hardscapes, Embarcadero Series Installation Guide, Section 6 WarrantyChecked
- Prism Hardscapes, Moderno Series Installation Guide, Section 6 WarrantyChecked
- Prism Hardscapes, Frequently Asked Questions: Care, Warranty and ServiceChecked
- Firegear Outdoors, Limited Warranty, the two-page document embedded on its warranty page (products manufactured after 01/01/2026)Checked
- Bull Outdoor Products, Warranty Policy v2025.02.14 (PDF), the document linked from its Registration and Warranty pageChecked
- Bull Outdoor Products, Registration and Warranty page: product registration and claim portalChecked
- Ohio Flame, Lifetime Warranty pageChecked
- Real Flame, Warranty and Returns page, and the PDFs it links: Outdoor Fire Table and Bowl Warranty, GFRC Fire Table and Bowl Warranty, Fire Pit WarrantyChecked
- Real Flame, Product Registration page: online registration formChecked
- Infratech, Limited Product Warranty and Warranty Registration card (PDF, 2021 copyright line)Checked
- Infratech, Warranty page: online registrationChecked
- Bromic Heating, Warranty page: periods by product line, original owner, claim procedure, service and labour responsibilityChecked
- Heatstrip, Classic product manual, Rev 6 (X-THHUS-A, 14.04.26): Warranty Terms and Conditions (PDF p. 18)Checked
- Heatstrip, Warranty Registration pageChecked
- Lava Heat Italia, Warranty and Product Care page, marked effective 1 October 2026Checked
About the Author
James Darren Writes the Firepit HQ guides on fire features, fuel and fire codes. Every figure in them is cited to its source with the date it was checked.





