Skip to content

Gas Fire Pit Brands Compared: Construction, Materials and Warranties

Gas fire pit brands compared from their own documents: what seven makers build, the materials, fuel, ignition, where made and warranty terms. No rankings.

By James DarrenPublished

A concrete fire bowl, a corten steel fire table and a copper fire pit arranged along a long stone terrace at dusk.

Seven makers are compared here, and they split three ways. The Outdoor Plus, Prism Hardscapes, Bull Outdoor Products, Firegear and HPC Fire Inspired build gas fire features or the burners that go in them. Ohio Flame builds wood-burning steel pits. Lava Rock Direct supplies the lava rock that goes in the bowl. In their own documents the longest warranty terms are lifetime terms on burners and steel bowls, while finished gas pieces carry one to three years.

This page compares published documents and product pages. It is not a ranking, it names no best fire pit brand, and nothing here comes from testing the products. Firepit HQ is not a dealer for any of these makers and is not affiliated with them. The right maker depends on your enclosure, fuel, climate and local code.

Gas Fire Pit Brands at a Glance

Maker, What it makes, Main materials, Fuel, Ignition options

  • The Outdoor Plus

    What it makes
    Gas fire bowls, pits and tables, fireplaces, torches and sculptures, plus pans, burners and ignition sold separately
    Main materials
    GFRC, hammered copper, corten, powder-coated steel, stainless steel
    Fuel
    Propane or natural gas
    Ignition options
    Match lit; match lit with flame sense; flame sense with spark; 12 V low voltage; 110 V plug and play
  • Prism Hardscapes

    What it makes
    Fire tables and bowls with a stainless burner insert, and wood-burning Falo bowls
    Main materials
    GFRC; hand-hammered copper; GFRC with a Brazilian hardwood exterior
    Fuel
    Propane or natural gas. The Porto tables list propane
    Ignition options
    Key valve (match lit) standard. PH-NEXTGEN hot surface electronic ignition, 13 V DC, optional
  • Ohio Flame

    What it makes
    Wood-burning steel fire pits, bowls and rings
    Main materials
    Heavy-gauge American steel, 3/16 to 1/4 in.
    Fuel
    Wood only
    Ignition options
    None
  • Bull Outdoor Products

    What it makes
    Two finished fire pits and two build-in kits, inside an outdoor kitchen line
    Main materials
    Stainless burner; porcelain tile top on a Quartzsite or natural stone base
    Fuel
    Propane, or propane or natural gas on the Slim High Profile
    Ignition options
    Not stated on the pages read
  • Firegear

    What it makes
    Burner systems, burners and kits; Sanctuary GFRC tables and bowls; Kalea Bay outdoor fireplaces; a wood-burning insert
    Main materials
    Brass and stainless burners; GFRC; steel
    Fuel
    Natural gas and propane, as separate models or by conversion kit
    Ignition options
    Match throw (key valve), AWS electronic, TPSI thermopile
  • HPC Fire Inspired

    What it makes
    Burner kits, inserts and ignition systems; finished concrete, copper and aluminum pieces
    Main materials
    304 stainless burners; lightweight concrete, copper, aluminum
    Fuel
    Natural gas or propane
    Ignition options
    Match lit, push-button flame sensing, electronic on/off, electronic hi/lo with an app
  • Lava Rock Direct

    What it makes
    Lava rock from 1/8 to 9 inches, sold wholesale
    Main materials
    Lava rock
    Fuel
    Not applicable
    Ignition options
    Not applicable

Brass or Stainless Burners

The burner under the shell is metal whatever the shell is. HPC states that all its burners are 304 stainless steel. Firegear makes its Pro Series burners in brass, with individual injectors that remove the need for a main burner orifice, and its standard line in stainless. The Outdoor Plus offers its linear and H bullet burners in brass or stainless. Bull and Prism both list a stainless steel burner. The warranties do not rank one metal over the other: Firegear's lifetime term covers both its brass Pro burners and its stainless burners. That is why the materials guide treats the shell separately from the flame.

Where Each Maker Says It Is Made, and What the Warranty Covers

Maker, Where made, as stated, Warranty, from its document
MakerWhere made, as statedWarranty, from its document
The Outdoor PlusMade in the USA, per its product pagesBurner ring and burner bars: lifetime. Stainless and aluminum pans: 5 years residential. Electronics, gas valves and pilot: 1 year residential, with a pan and burner kit or complete feature. Fire pits, bowls and fireplaces in GFRC, powder coat and stainless: 1 year. Copper and corten weathering, electrodes and media: not warrantied
Prism HardscapesDesigned, cast and finished in-house. No country stated2-year limited warranty against manufacturer defects
Ohio FlameMade in the USA from American steel, per the brandLifetime on registered steel fire bowls, covering structural integrity and welds. Screens, grates, paint and finishes excluded
Bull Outdoor ProductsNot stated for the fire products. Its company page lists production and warehouse facilities in Lodi, California and Athens, Tennessee1 year on all parts and construction materials of fire features
FiregearNo country stated. Its owner cites a 57,000-square-foot manufacturing and distribution facility in IndianaConsumer use, products made after January 1, 2026: lifetime on stainless burners and pans and Pro Series burners; 5 years on gas valve, spark igniter, pilot, key valve and TPSI parts; 3 years on AWS electronic ignition; 3 years on the Sanctuary GFRC structure
HPC Fire InspiredNo country stated. Its contact address is in Miamisburg, OhioResidential: stainless steel burners lifetime; stainless components 5 years; unfinished enclosures and Copper Bowl Series 3 years; electronic components and gas valves 3 years; pilot assembly 2 years
Lava Rock DirectMined, cleaned and packaged in the USA, per the brandNone published

How to Read the Warranty Terms

The longest terms sit on parts that do not change color. A lifetime burner or steel bowl is a different promise from a finish, and the documents say so.

  • Finish and weathering are carved out. The Outdoor Plus does not warrant natural weathering of copper and corten. HPC's Copper Bowl Series carries 3 years with "normal weathering expected." Ohio Flame excludes finishes, and Bull excludes rust, corrosion, oxidation and discoloration. Firegear excludes discoloration from overheating or exposure to chemicals including chlorine and salt, and says coastal, humid and salt environments are subject to manufacturer review.
  • Who files the claim differs. Firegear says claims go through the dealer or distributor account. HPC and The Outdoor Plus require a return authorization and the defective part sent back. Prism asks for proof of purchase and puts shipping of a replacement on the buyer.
  • Coverage stays with the first owner. Bull, HPC, Firegear and The Outdoor Plus cover the original purchaser only, and The Outdoor Plus says the warranty does not transfer.
  • Field labor is on you. The Outdoor Plus, Bull and Firegear exclude installation or service labor. HPC's warranty page covers parts and in-house labor and says nothing about installation labor.
  • Conditions can void it. Firegear says missing enclosure ventilation voids its warranty. The Outdoor Plus requires a cover when the fire pit is not in use. Prism says burning wood or an unspecified fuel in its gas pieces voids the warranty immediately.

What the Makers Say About Certification

  • The Outdoor Plus. CSA Certificate of Compliance 80130914, issued 2022-11-17, covering the Decorative Gas Appliances, Outdoor Fireplaces class to ANSI Z21.97-2017 and CSA 2.41-2017. Individual ignition options are labeled "CSA Certified" or "LC Certified" on its pages.
  • HPC. Select insert models certified to ANSI Z21.97-2014 and CSA 2.41-2014. Its round bowl inserts offer a "Non-Certified" option.
  • Prism. Says its burner assemblies are CSA certified.
  • Bull. Lists all four fire products as CSA Approved.
  • Firegear. Certifies the AWS valve and control system, by Lab Test, to ANSI Z21.97-2014. That is a component. Its burner manuals I read state no whole-appliance listing.

The International Fuel Gas Code requires a permanently installed outdoor decorative gas appliance to be listed to ANSI Z21.97 (Section 635.1, quoted on our Colorado code page), so ask your building department which listing it needs. The burner kit guide explains why a component certificate is not a listing, and the code library has the state pages.

Who Each Maker Suits

These are my readings of the documents above. Check them against your own site and your manual.

The Outdoor Plus

The Outdoor Plus suits a builder or buyer who wants to choose the burner and ignition for a custom masonry pit, or one design in the material that fits the climate. Its Cazo bowl page lists the pan, burner and lava rock among the items included. It suits less well a buyer who does not want to choose among five ignition systems, two fuels and several materials, or who wants a finish that never changes, since copper and corten weather and the warranty excludes it.

Prism Hardscapes

Prism Hardscapes suits a buyer who wants a finished, sculptural GFRC piece and has a gas line or a plan for a tank. Most gas models list 65,000 BTU, with 90,000 on the longest Tavola tables and 125,000 on the Moderno 70. The key valve is standard, electronic ignition is an option, and the warranty is 2 years. It suits less well a buyer who wants electronic ignition as standard.

Ohio Flame

Ohio Flame suits a buyer who wants a real wood fire in a heavy steel pit that stays put. Its FAQ says not to put its pits on wooden decks and to set them on flagstone or pavers, because the steel can transfer rust to lighter hardscape. It does not suit anyone who wants gas. Its site shows a Gas Burners collection with no products in it, and its FAQ says it makes no gas pits or conversion kits.

Bull Outdoor Products

Bull Outdoor Products suits a buyer already planning a Bull outdoor kitchen who wants the fire pit from the same maker. The two finished pits and the H-burner kit list 35,000 BTU burners. It suits less well a buyer who wants a larger flame as a stand-alone feature: the BTU ratings guide lists burners that run to 200,000 and beyond.

Firegear

Firegear suits a landscaper or builder putting a gas burner into a paver or block pit, and a buyer who wants brass burners. Its Pro burner kits come without a pan, and its manuals tell you to supply one. Its finished freestanding pieces are the Sanctuary tables and bowls, all GFRC, so it suits less well a buyer who wants a finished table in another material. Its LUME insert is for wood-burning pits.

HPC Fire Inspired

HPC Fire Inspired suits a builder or homeowner finishing a masonry or ready-to-finish enclosure who wants an insert with a listing option. Check which version you pick, since a non-certified option exists. It suits less well a buyer who wants a finished designer piece out of the box, because its finished range is narrower than its insert range.

Lava Rock Direct

Lava Rock Direct is not a fire pit maker. It is a wholesale supplier of lava rock to dealers, distributors and manufacturers, with quotes by volume and location, and it matters here as the answer to what goes in the bowl. The fire glass vs lava rock guide covers how deep and how much.

What to Ask Before You Choose a Maker

  • Which burner, at what rated output, and does it match your gas line? If warmth is the goal, the BTU calculator sizes patio heaters, since a fire pit rating describes flame.
  • Which listing covers this exact configuration, and will the building department accept it?
  • Which material suits your climate and the way the finish will age, and what does the warranty say about weathering?
  • Who files a claim, who is covered if you sell the house, and is installation labor excluded?
  • Which ignition do you want, and what power does it need?
  • What does the manual require of the enclosure: vents, clearances, a cover?

Common Questions

What are the best gas fire pit brands?

No single brand wins on every site, and this page does not rank them. The makers compared here differ most in materials, burner and ignition options, listing statements and warranty terms. Match those to your enclosure, fuel, climate and local code, then read each maker's installation manual before you decide.

Which gas fire pit brands have a lifetime warranty?

On burners, HPC covers stainless steel burners for life, Firegear covers stainless burners and pans and its Pro Series burners for life, and The Outdoor Plus covers burner rings and bars for life. Finished pieces carry shorter terms: one year at The Outdoor Plus and Bull, two at Prism, and three on Firegear's Sanctuary GFRC structure.

Which fire pit brands are made in the USA?

The Outdoor Plus and Ohio Flame say their products are made in the USA, and Ohio Flame says its steel is American. Prism says it casts and finishes in-house without naming a country. HPC, Firegear and Bull do not state a country of manufacture for their fire products.

Are Ohio Flame fire pits gas or wood?

Wood. Ohio Flame sells its steel fire pits for wood burning only and says it does not make gas fire pits or conversion kits, though its site lists a gas burner collection with no products in it yet. It suggests that any modification be done by a licensed professional.

Do all gas fire pit brands carry a safety listing?

No, and the statements differ. The Outdoor Plus holds a CSA certificate dated 2022-11-17, HPC certifies select inserts and offers a non-certified option, Bull lists its products as CSA Approved, and Prism says its burner assemblies are CSA certified. Ask for the listing for your exact configuration.

Who makes fire pit burners separately from the fire pit?

HPC, Firegear and The Outdoor Plus all make burners, pans and kits that are sold on their own, and Bull makes two build-in kits. They are meant for enclosures built for gas. The burner kit guide compares the HPC and Firegear lines in detail.

Sources

  1. The Outdoor Plus, 2025 Product Warranty: warranty periods, exclusions, claims and transferChecked
  2. The Outdoor Plus, CSA Certificate of Compliance 80130914, issued 2022-11-17: decorative gas appliances and outdoor fireplaces, ANSI Z21.97-2017 / CSA 2.41-2017Checked
  3. The Outdoor Plus, Cazo Fire Bowl (GFRC) product page: made in the USA, items included, ignition and fuel optionsChecked
  4. The Outdoor Plus, Round Drop In Pan and Round SS Burner product page: ignition options and certification labelsChecked
  5. The Outdoor Plus, Fire Bowls and Fire Pits and Tables category pages: GFRC, powder-coated metal, hammered copper and stainless steelChecked
  6. The Outdoor Plus, Match Lit Fire Pit Insert Manual (2024): installer, cover and solid fuel statements (PDF pp. 1 and 6)Checked
  7. Prism Hardscapes, The Company page: designed, cast and hand-finished in-house, GFRC, CSA-certified burner assembliesChecked
  8. Prism Hardscapes, Moderno Series Installation Guide: manual light and electronic ignition (PDF p. 12), warranty (PDF p. 15)Checked
  9. Prism Hardscapes, Copper Collection and Elements Collection product pages: hand-hammered copper, GFRC with Brazilian hardwood exterior, 65,000 BTU, propane or natural gas, key valve ignitionChecked
  10. Prism Hardscapes, Elements Collection product pageChecked
  11. Prism Hardscapes, Moderno Series and Tavola Series product pages: 65,000 BTU burner, propane or natural gas, stainless steel burner insertChecked
  12. Prism Hardscapes, Tavola Series product page: 65,000 BTU on most models, 90,000 on the Tavola 6 and Tavola 110Checked
  13. Prism Hardscapes, Wood-Burning Fire Features page: Falo bowlsChecked
  14. Prism Hardscapes, Porto Series product page: enclosed propane tank storage, key valve ignitionChecked
  15. Prism Hardscapes, PH-NEXTGEN ignition page: hot surface ignition, 13 VDC, new installs and retrofitsChecked
  16. Ohio Flame, Lifetime Warranty pageChecked
  17. Ohio Flame, American Made pageChecked
  18. Ohio Flame, Frequently Asked Questions: wood-burning only, no gas pits or conversion kits, decks, rust transferChecked
  19. Ohio Flame, Gas Burners collection page (no products listed)Checked
  20. Bull Outdoor Products, Warranty Policy (PDF, created 2025-02-21): fire features, who is covered, exclusionsChecked
  21. Bull Outdoor Products, Small Square Fire Pit and Slim High Profile Fire Pit product pages: 35,000 BTU stainless burner, tile top, fuel, CSA Approved, lava rock includedChecked
  22. Bull Outdoor Products, Slim High Profile Fire Pit product pageChecked
  23. Bull Outdoor Products, Rectangle Fire Pit Pan with H-Burner Kit and Round 10 in Fire Ring Kit product pages (fuel statements differ on the second)Checked
  24. Bull Outdoor Products, Who We Are page: production and warehouse facilitiesChecked
  25. Firegear Outdoors, Limited Warranty, the two-page document embedded on its warranty page (products manufactured after 01/01/2026): burner systems, Kalea Bay, Sanctuary Series, accessories, original purchaser, claims through the distributor or dealer, labor and environmental exclusionsChecked
  26. Earthcore Industries, press release, 2026-02-06: acquisition of Firegear, 57,000-square-foot manufacturing and distribution facility in IndianaChecked
  27. Firegear Outdoors, Pro H-Burners and Kits, REV. D: brass burners, no pan supplied, ventilation (PDF pp. 1 to 5)Checked
  28. Firegear Outdoors, Pro Spur Burners with All Weather System (AWS), drop-in round and square models: valve and control system certified by Lab Test to ANSI Z21.97-2014 (PDF p. 7)Checked
  29. Firegear Outdoors, Stainless Steel H-Burners and Kits (match throw): natural gas from the factory, propane by conversion kit (PDF p. 1)Checked
  30. Firegear Outdoors, Sanctuary Series, Kalea Bay and The LUME Insert product pages: GFRC fire tables and bowls, outdoor fireplace, smokeless insert for wood-burning pitsChecked
  31. HPC Fire Inspired, Contact page: 2225 Lyons Road, Miamisburg, OH 45342Checked
  32. HPC Fire Inspired, Warranty Information page (outdoor fire effects table; original retail purchaser, not transferable; parts and in-house labor; RMA return)Checked
  33. HPC Fire Inspired, CSA Certified Round Bowl Inserts product page: ignition options including Non-CertifiedChecked
  34. HPC Fire Inspired, Complete Fire Features category page: lightweight concrete, copper and aluminum familiesChecked
  35. HPC Fire Inspired, Safety and Certifications page: CSA certification statementsChecked
  36. HPC Fire Inspired, burner drawings (Round Burners, rev. 7/9/2024): all burners 304 stainless steelChecked
  37. HPC Fire Inspired, Match Lit Fire Pit Insert manual 870: select models certified to ANSI Z21.97-2014 / CSA 2.41-2014 (PDF p. 5)Checked
  38. Colorado Division of Oil and Public Safety and Plumbing Board, 3 CCR 720-1 Rule 1.2(B): adopts International Fuel Gas Code chapters 2 to 8, which include the outdoor decorative appliance sectionChecked
  39. International Code Council, 2024 International Fuel Gas Code, Section 635.1 (permanently fixed-in-place outdoor decorative appliances listed to ANSI Z21.97, installed per the manufacturer's instructions), as quoted and cited on Firepit HQ's Colorado code pageChecked
  40. Lava Rock Direct, Products page and Medium Black Lava Rock product page: wholesale, size classes, mined, cleaned and packaged in the USAChecked
  41. Lava Rock Direct, Medium Black Lava Rock product pageChecked

About the Author

James Darren Writes the Firepit HQ guides on fire features, fuel and fire codes. Every figure in them is cited to its source with the date it was checked.

Get the Launch List

One email when the store opens.

You will get one email to confirm your address and one when the store opens. Unsubscribe any time. Details are in our privacy policy.