Skip to content

The Outdoor Plus

Copper, corten and GFRC, plus the burners underneath.

The Outdoor Plus logo
Logo shown to identify the manufacturer. Firepit HQ is not affiliated with or endorsed by The Outdoor Plus.
Headquarters
Ontario, California Source
Legal name
The Outdoor Plus Co., Inc. Source
Where made
Made in the USA, according to the brand. Source
Certification
CSA Certificate of Compliance for decorative gas appliances and outdoor fireplaces, certified to ANSI Z21.97-2017 / CSA 2.41-2017, issued 2022-11-17. Individual ignition options carry their own certification labels. Source
Warranty
Burner ring and burner bars carry a lifetime term. Fire pits, bowls and fireplaces in GFRC, powder coat and stainless carry 1 year. Natural weathering of copper and corten is not warrantied. Source

What They Make

The Outdoor Plus, of Ontario, California, makes gas fire features and the burners that go inside them. The finished range runs from fire bowls such as Cazo, Sedona and Maya to fire pits and tables such as Coronado, Unity and Regal, plus fire sculptures, fireplaces, torches and towers, fire and water bowls, and scuppers. Materials include GFRC in 14 colors, hammered copper, corten, powder-coated steel and stainless steel.

It also sells the components. Pans come in drop-in, lipless, flat and raised-lip styles, and bullet burners in round, square, rectangle, racetrack, switchback, H, linear and triple-S shapes. The round bullet burner spans 8 to 48 in, one to four rings, and 45,000 to 630,000 BTU. Ignition systems are sold on their own as well: match lit, match lit with flame sense, spark, plug and play at 110 V, and low voltage at 12 V.

Fire pits and bowls run on propane or natural gas. The brand lists a smokeless wood-burning line, The Fire Lodge, as not yet released.

The Outdoor Plus collections, as the manufacturer lists them

  • Fire bowls
    Source

    Category
    Gas fire bowls
    Materials
    GFRC, concrete, copper, steel, stainless
    Fuel
    Propane, natural gas
    Ignition
    Match lit, low-voltage electronic
    Notes
    Cazo, Sedona, Maya, Luna, Avalon, Gladiator, Lighthouse, Remi, Rodeo and Roma. Cazo GFRC comes in 24, 31, 36 and 48 in; Maya GFRC in 24, 30 and 36 in; Cazo copper in 24, 30 and 36 in. GFRC is offered in 14 colors. Ignition shown is what the bowls we checked offer.
  • Fire and water bowls
    Source

    Category
    Fire and water bowls, water bowls and planters
    Materials
    GFRC, copper
    Fuel
    Propane, natural gas
    Ignition
    Match lit, low-voltage electronic
    Notes
    Cazo, Maya and Sedona configurations, plus self-contained Paradise Falls units. Also offered with a powder-coat finish. Fuel applies to the fire side.
  • Fire pits and tables
    Source

    Category
    Gas fire pits and fire tables
    Materials
    GFRC, steel, corten, stainless, copper
    Fuel
    Propane, natural gas
    Ignition
    Match lit, match lit with flame sense, flame sense with spark, low-voltage electronic, plug and play
    Notes
    Coronado, Unity, Regal, Alameda, Harbor, Cabo, Avalon, Atlantic and Eclipse, among others; the Coronado runs 48 to 108 in. Wood top and wood-grain options exist. Most models offer all five ignition choices, and the brand labels certification per option on the product page.
  • Fire sculptures
    Source

    Category
    Gas fire sculptures
    Materials
    Corten, steel
    Fuel
    Gas
    Ignition
    Not stated
    Notes
    Sixteen sculptures including Astro, Atomic, Aurora, Comet, Galaxy, Horizon, Nebula, Nova, Orion and Saturn, in corten or powder coat. Fuel type and ignition were not checked per model.
  • Fireplaces
    Source

    Category
    Outdoor gas fireplaces
    Materials
    Corten, steel, stainless
    Fuel
    Gas
    Ignition
    Not stated
    Notes
    Williams, Berkeley and Huntington, in ready-to-finish, corten, powder coat and stainless.
  • Torches and towers
    Source

    Category
    Fire torches and towers
    Materials
    Copper, corten, stainless
    Fuel
    Propane, natural gas
    Ignition
    Match lit, electronic
    Notes
    More than 40 torch heads, including Tiki, Lantern and Globe, and the Bastille, Granada and High Rise towers. Match lit and electronic versions have separate manuals.
  • Pans and bullet burners
    Source

    Category
    Burner components
    Materials
    Stainless, brass
    Fuel
    Propane, natural gas
    Ignition
    Match lit, electronic
    Notes
    Drop-in, lipless, flat and raised-lip pan kits in 304 stainless, and bullet burners in round, square, rectangle, racetrack, switchback, H, linear and triple-S shapes. The round bullet burner spans 8 to 48 in, one to four rings, and 45,000 to 630,000 BTU. The H, linear and triple-S burners are brass. Sold with any ignition system.
  • Ignition systems
    Source

    Category
    Burner components
    Materials
    Not stated
    Fuel
    Propane, natural gas
    Ignition
    Match lit, match lit with flame sense, flame sense with spark, plug and play, low-voltage electronic
    Notes
    Match Lit, Match Lit Flame Sense, Spark Glow, Fire Glow, Flame Sense Spark, Plug & Play (110 V) and Low Voltage (12 V). The Plug & Play and Low Voltage units have an integrated key valve and are rated up to 195,000 (Mini), 295,000 (Standard) and 500,000 (High) BTU.
  • The Fire Lodge
    Source

    Category
    Smokeless wood-burning fire pits
    Materials
    Corten, GFRC
    Fuel
    Wood
    Ignition
    Not stated
    Notes
    Artemis, Gravity, Helix, Orbit and Solar; Artemis and Solar use GFRC. The Helix comes in 22 and 36 in. The brand lists the line as not yet released.

Each row links to its source. Checked . Every source is listed under Sources.

How to Tell Their Pieces Apart

Each design comes in many versions. The same shape, Cazo or Coronado or Maya, ships in GFRC, powder coat, corten, stainless or copper, in several sizes, with two fuels and up to five ignition choices. That multiplication is why the catalog is large. As we read it, the family name tells you the shape, and the material is the choice that matters for your climate.

Ignition runs from most manual to most automated. Match lit is a key valve and a lighter. Match lit with flame sense adds a thermocouple shutoff. Spark options run on a battery. Plug and play runs on 110 V, and low voltage runs on 12 V through an external transformer, which the data sheet lists as ready for use beside a pool.

Certification goes option by option. On the product pages the brand labels some ignition options CSA Certified and one LC Certified, and others carry no mark, so read the label on the option you choose. It also holds a CSA certificate, issued 2022-11-17, for decorative gas appliances and outdoor fireplaces.

Who It Suits, and Who It Doesn't

In our view, The Outdoor Plus is a strong fit for a builder or a buyer putting a specific burner and ignition into a custom masonry pit. It also suits a buyer who wants one design in the material that suits the climate, such as corten for a weathered look or stainless steel near the coast.

If you want one finished answer, the option count gets in the way. This isn't the brand for a buyer who doesn't want to choose among five ignition systems, two fuels and several materials.

It also isn't for a buyer who wants a finish that never changes. Copper and corten weather, and the 2025 warranty excludes natural weathering. That warranty gives the burner ring and burner bars a lifetime term, and gives the fire pits, bowls and fireplaces in GFRC, powder coat and stainless one year.

Get the Launch List

One email when the store opens.

You will get one email to confirm your address and one when the store opens. Unsubscribe any time. Details are in our privacy policy.