Skip to content

Bromic vs Infratech vs Heatstrip: Electric Patio Heaters Compared

Bromic vs Infratech vs Heatstrip electric patio heaters compared: wattage, voltage, element, IP rating, clearances, warranty and controls, from their manuals.

By James DarrenPublished

Two matte-black electric infrared heaters mounted on the beam of a covered outdoor lounge at dusk, both glowing.

Bromic, Infratech and Heatstrip all make hardwired electric infrared heaters, and their documents separate them on voltage choices, water ratings, warranty and controls. Infratech lists the most sizes, 1,500 to 6,000 W, all electric, with a mounting height for each model. Bromic also makes gas heaters and pairs its electric line with an app. Heatstrip publishes coverage for indoor, enclosed and exposed settings, and its strips run 2,200 to 3,200 W on 240 V.

This page compares published specs and manuals. Firepit HQ has not tested any of these heaters, and it is independent of all three makers. Where a maker's own documents disagree, the tables note it.

What This Comparison Covers

It covers the electric lines each maker sells in the US: Bromic's Tungsten, Platinum, Cobalt and Eclipse, Infratech's C, CD, W, WD and SL series, and Heatstrip's Classic, Intense, Enhance and Max DC. Gas models are left out, and anything a maker does not publish is marked "not stated." For how infrared heat, circuits and mounting work in general, read the infrared patio heater guide.

Wattage, Voltage and Amps by Line

Line, Watts, Voltages, Current at 240 V

  • Bromic Tungsten Electric

    Watts
    2,000, 3,000, 4,000, 6,000
    Voltages
    208, 220 to 240, 277
    Current at 240 V
    8.3, 12.5, 16.6, 25 A
  • Bromic Platinum Electric

    Watts
    2,300, 3,400, 4,500
    Voltages
    208, 220 to 240
    Current at 240 V
    9.6, 14.2, 18.8 A
  • Bromic Cobalt

    Watts
    4,000, 6,000
    Voltages
    208, 220 to 240
    Current at 240 V
    16.6, 25 A
  • Bromic Eclipse

    Watts
    2,900
    Voltages
    208, 240
    Current at 240 V
    12.1 A
  • Infratech C, single element

    Watts
    1,500, 2,000, 2,600, 3,000, 4,000
    Voltages
    240, with 208 and 277 on most
    Current at 240 V
    6.3, 8.3, 10.8, 12.5, 16.7 A
  • Infratech CD, dual element

    Watts
    3,000, 4,000, 5,200, 6,000
    Voltages
    240, with 208 and 277 on most
    Current at 240 V
    12.5, 16.7, 21.6, 25 A
  • Infratech W and WD, flush mount

    Watts
    Same as C and CD
    Voltages
    Same
    Current at 240 V
    Follows watts
  • Infratech SL, slimline

    Watts
    1,600, 2,400, 3,000, 4,000
    Voltages
    240, with 208 and 277 on most
    Current at 240 V
    6.7, 10, 12.5, 16.7 A
  • Heatstrip Classic

    Watts
    2,400, 3,200
    Voltages
    240
    Current at 240 V
    10, 13.3 A
  • Heatstrip Intense

    Watts
    2,200, 3,200
    Voltages
    240
    Current at 240 V
    9.2, 13.3 A
  • Heatstrip Enhance

    Watts
    2,400, 3,200
    Voltages
    240
    Current at 240 V
    10, 13.3 A
  • Heatstrip Max DC Commercial

    Watts
    4,000, 6,000
    Voltages
    240
    Current at 240 V
    16.6, 25 A

Sources: the makers' spec pages, cut sheets and manuals. Infratech's reference manual also lists 480 V and 120 V models; its FAQ caps 120 V heaters at 1,500 W, while the same manual lists a 1,600 W SL-1612 at 120 V. Bromic Eclipse draws 13.9 A at 208 V.

Published Coverage at the Same Wattage

Coverage is where the three differ most, and each maker measures its own way. Infratech's chart ties each area to a mounting height, and its installation manual adds cold and protected figures. Heatstrip gives a figure per exposure. Bromic's electric cut sheets state no basis.

Watts, Infratech, Bromic, Heatstrip

  • 3,000 to 3,200

    Infratech
    C-30: 64 sq ft, 8 by 8 ft at 7 to 9 ft
    Bromic
    Tungsten 3,000 W: 100 sq ft
    Heatstrip
    Classic 3,200 W: 57 exposed, 69 enclosed, 86 indoor protected
  • 4,000

    Infratech
    C-40: 100 sq ft, 10 by 10 ft at 8 to 10 ft (64 cold, 144 protected). CD-40: 80 sq ft, 8 by 10 ft
    Bromic
    Tungsten and Cobalt: 130 on the cut sheet, 120 in the manual
    Heatstrip
    Max DC: 129, labeled both exposed and enclosed
  • 6,000

    Infratech
    CD-60: 121 sq ft, 11 by 11 ft at 8 to 12 ft (100 cold, 144 protected)
    Bromic
    Tungsten and Cobalt: 160 on the cut sheet, 144 in the manual
    Heatstrip
    Max DC: 172, labeled both exposed and enclosed

At 6,000 W the published areas run from 121 to 172 sq ft. That is a reason to read the basis behind each number before comparing heaters on area alone, and the BTU calculator lists the figures with their sources.

Elements, Water Ratings, Listings and Where They Are Made

Line, Element, Water rating, Listing, Made where, per the maker

  • Bromic Tungsten

    Element
    Quartz
    Water rating
    IPX4
    Listing
    Intertek ETL and cETL
    Made where, per the maker
    Not stated
  • Bromic Platinum

    Element
    Not stated
    Water rating
    IP54 on the cut sheet, IPX4 in the manual
    Listing
    Intertek ETL and cETL
    Made where, per the maker
    Not stated
  • Bromic Cobalt

    Element
    Quartz
    Water rating
    IPX4
    Listing
    Intertek ETL and cETL
    Made where, per the maker
    Not stated
  • Bromic Eclipse

    Element
    Not stated
    Water rating
    IP54
    Listing
    SGS
    Made where, per the maker
    Not stated
  • Infratech, all series

    Element
    Medium-wave quartz
    Water rating
    IP X4
    Listing
    UL and cUL
    Made where, per the maker
    Southern California, every part
  • Heatstrip Classic

    Element
    Not stated; a profiled alloy strip, ceramic coated
    Water rating
    IP55
    Listing
    ETL
    Made where, per the maker
    Classic manual lists China
  • Heatstrip Intense and Enhance

    Element
    Carbon filament
    Water rating
    IPX5
    Listing
    ETL
    Made where, per the maker
    Not stated in the manuals
  • Heatstrip Max DC

    Element
    Carbon element, per the brochure
    Water rating
    IPX5
    Listing
    None listed
    Made where, per the maker
    Not stated

Heatstrip's About page says its heaters are designed, engineered and supplied in Australia, which does not say where they are made. Infratech's UL and cUL listing is under file E 29825, and it says its quartz elements are rated for up to 5,000 hours. Bromic's Tungsten and Cobalt elements carry a seven-year warranty. Bromic's Platinum Marine, in 316 stainless, is rated IPX5 in its manual and on its product page, and IP54 on its cut sheet.

Mounting and Published Clearances

Line, Mounting options, Minimum mounting height, Clearances the maker publishes

  • Bromic Tungsten

    Mounting options
    Wall, ceiling, chain or tube suspension, recess kit
    Minimum mounting height
    Wall 72 in, ceiling 96 in
    Clearances the maker publishes
    3 ft in front, 20 in between heaters
  • Bromic Platinum

    Mounting options
    Wall, ceiling, two recess kits, tube suspension
    Minimum mounting height
    Wall 72 in, ceiling 96 in
    Clearances the maker publishes
    1,000 mm (39.4 in) in front, 20 in between heaters
  • Bromic Cobalt

    Mounting options
    Wall, ceiling
    Minimum mounting height
    Wall 6 ft, ceiling 8 ft
    Clearances the maker publishes
    3 ft in front, 20 in between heaters
  • Bromic Eclipse

    Mounting options
    Pendant on six pole options
    Minimum mounting height
    96 in
    Clearances the maker publishes
    Cut sheet lists floor clearance only
  • Infratech C and CD

    Mounting options
    Wall, ceiling
    Minimum mounting height
    6 ft for UL listing, 7 ft suggested, then by model
    Clearances the maker publishes
    Combustibles: 6 in behind, 18 in at sides and ends, 36 in in front
  • Infratech W and WD

    Mounting options
    Flush frame, wall, ceiling, 8 ft pole
    Minimum mounting height
    Same
    Clearances the maker publishes
    Same
  • Infratech SL

    Mounting options
    Wall, ceiling, cannot be recessed
    Minimum mounting height
    6 to 10 ft by model
    Clearances the maker publishes
    Same
  • Heatstrip Classic

    Mounting options
    Ceiling, wall, beam, recess, chain, extension pole
    Minimum mounting height
    2.1 m, with 2.3 to 2.5 m recommended
    Clearances the maker publishes
    100 mm behind, 3 ft in front
  • Heatstrip Intense and Enhance

    Mounting options
    Ceiling, wall, beam, chain or wire, extension pole, flush kit
    Minimum mounting height
    2.1 m, with 2.3 to 2.5 m recommended
    Clearances the maker publishes
    3 ft in front
  • Heatstrip Max DC

    Mounting options
    Ceiling, wall, chain or wire, extension pole
    Minimum mounting height
    2.4 m, with 2.5 to 2.8 m ideal
    Clearances the maker publishes
    See manual

Two mounting rules stand out. Infratech's flush mount needs a five-sided pocket of 5/8 in drywall with a one-hour fire rating, on a flat ceiling, and its manual says licensed electrician only. Bromic says the elements must stay horizontal, and Bromic and Heatstrip both say the heater must never face the ceiling.

Warranty and Controls

Line, Warranty as published, Controls
LineWarranty as publishedControls
Bromic Tungsten Electric2 years on the heater, 7 on elementsAffinity on/off or dimmer, manual wall switch
Bromic Platinum Electric3 years, 5 on land-based MarineAffinity on/off or dimmer, manual wall switch
Bromic Cobalt1 year on parts, 7 on elementsAffinity on/off or dimmer, manual wall switch
Bromic Eclipse3 yearsEclipse controller with three heat settings, manual wall switch
Infratech, all series3 years from purchase, registration requiredOn/off, duplex, INF regulator, solid-state zones with timers, Universal Control
Heatstrip Classic, Intense, Enhance3 years residential, 2 commercialClassic with or without remote and app. Intense and Enhance include both
Heatstrip Max DC3 years commercial in the brochure, 3 residential and 3 commercial on the product pageNone listed. Must be hard-wired

The terms differ in ways the headline years hide. Bromic's warranty covers the original owner only, gives a replacement heater or part, leaves labor, shipping and installation to the owner, and routes claims through the seller. Infratech's covers the original purchaser at the original site, ends on transfer or relocation, and says competitor controls may void it. Heatstrip's, in terms its US manuals label for international customers, covers the original owner, is repair or replacement at the factory, and leaves return freight and site labor to the customer. It also requires the heater to be maintained and cleaned as instructed.

On controls, Bromic's dimmers adjust heat in 1 percent steps, and its app adds timers, schedules and voice control. Infratech says its controls take a heater from zero to 100 percent of power. Heatstrip's brochure gives its remote and app models three heat levels and a timer of 0 to 24 hours.

Where the Makers' Documents Disagree

Product pages, cut sheets and manuals are published separately, and the numbers do not always match. Cross-check the manual for your exact model.

  • Bromic coverage: the Tungsten and Cobalt cut sheets give up to 130 and 160 sq ft for 4,000 and 6,000 W. Their manuals give up to 120 and 144.
  • Bromic water rating: Platinum is IP54 on the cut sheet and IPX4 in the manual.
  • Heatstrip coverage: the Classic manual's spec table gives 43 to 54 and 54 to 65 sq ft for the 2,400 and 3,200 W, while its selection guide, used above, runs to 65 and 86. The Intense and Enhance coverage tables pair square meters with square feet that do not match, so those figures are left out.
  • Heatstrip Max DC coverage: the product page's table labels 129 and 172 sq ft outdoor exposed, and its own text calls the same figures outdoor enclosed.
  • Heatstrip Classic height: the manual gives a 2.7 m maximum, and the brochure's product pages give 3.0 m.
  • Heatstrip wiring: the manuals call for a fixed installation, and the Enhance manual also describes a 2,400 W plug version.
  • Heatstrip warranty: the Max DC is 3 years commercial in the brochure, and 3 residential and 3 commercial on the product page.
  • Infratech models: the reference manual lists C-25 (2,500 W) and CD-50 (5,000 W) models, while the chart and product pages list C-26 (2,600 W) and CD-52 (5,200 W).
  • Infratech 120 V: the FAQ caps 120 V heaters at 1,500 W, and the reference manual lists a 1,600 W SL-1612 at 120 V.

Which Maker Suits Which Project

These are my readings of the documents.

Bromic suits a project where the heater is part of the ceiling plane and you want app control. Platinum has two recess kits and a ceramic-glass face. Eclipse is a pendant with a dimmable LED. Bromic also makes gas heaters, which helps if one patio mixes covered and open areas. The tradeoffs are on paper: warranty varies by line, from 1 year on Cobalt parts to 5 on land-based Marine, the documents disagree on coverage, and the electric documents I read do not say where the heaters are made.

Infratech suits a project with an electrician or designer involved and a ceiling to build into. It lists the most models, publishes a mounting height for each, offers flush frames and a pole mount, and builds relay-panel control systems for zones. The tradeoffs: electric only, a warranty you register to activate, and a flush mount that is construction work.

Heatstrip suits a covered patio or pergola with a 240 V circuit, where a slim strip over a table is the goal. Its Classic manual sets a minimum of 46 W per sq ft for a protected outdoor area and shows coverage falling as exposure rises. Intense and Enhance are rated IPX5, and Intense's manual says it does not need full protection from the elements. The tradeoffs: the strips top out at 3,200 W, the 4,000 and 6,000 W Max DC is sold as commercial, and the Classic manual lists China as the country of manufacture.

For covered spaces, see outdoor heaters for covered patios. To size by area and choose between electric and gas, read how to choose a patio heater. Each maker has a profile at Bromic, Infratech and Heatstrip.

Questions to Settle Before You Choose

  • Voltage: what your panel supplies, 208 or 240 V, confirmed by an electrician.
  • Ceiling height: against each model's minimum and published range.
  • Exposure: which water rating and manual language fit your patio, and what your inspector requires.
  • Warranty terms: who the warranty covers and who handles a claim.
  • Manual revision: the one for your exact model number.

Common Questions

Are Bromic heaters any good?

The documents show an Intertek ETL and cETL listing on the Tungsten, Platinum and Cobalt lines, IPX4 or IP54 water ratings, warranties from 1 year on Cobalt parts to 5 years on land-based Marine, with 7 years on Tungsten and Cobalt elements, and an app with timers and schedules. They also show where Bromic's own sheets disagree. I have not tested them, so this reads the specs and gives no verdict on quality.

Is Infratech a good brand?

Its documents show a UL and cUL listing under file E 29825, an IP X4 rating on all fixtures and a three-year warranty that you register to activate. Infratech says it makes every part in Southern California, and its heater pages list electric models only, from 1,500 to 6,000 W. These are the maker's published claims. I have not tested the heaters.

What are the key differences between Bromic and Infratech heaters?

Bromic makes gas and electric heaters, and its four electric lines include a recess-ready low profile and a pendant with a light. Infratech makes electric only, in more sizes, with flush and pole mounts and relay-panel zoning. Bromic's warranty runs from 1 to 5 years by line and Infratech's is 3 years. Bromic's controls add an app with schedules.

Which brand of infrared patio heater is best?

No published standard ranks them, and I have not tested any. Match the documents to your site instead. Infratech publishes mounting heights for each model, Heatstrip publishes coverage for indoor, enclosed and exposed settings, and Bromic offers a pendant with a light and an app. Voltage, ceiling height and exposure decide more than the name does.

How does Heatstrip compare with Bromic and Infratech?

Heatstrip's US strips are 240 V, 2,200 to 3,200 W, and its Max DC commercial heaters go to 6,000 W. Its Classic manual calls for at least 46 W per square foot in a protected outdoor area. The Classic manual lists China as the country of manufacture. The strips carry 3 years residential and 2 years commercial, and the Max DC carries 3 years commercial.

Sources

  1. Infratech, Reference Manual (IN_refmanual_022625_dj): product lists with watts, volts and amps (including the 120 V SL-1612 and the C-25 and CD-50 models), Clearance from Combustibles, Mounting Options, flush mount requirements, 8 ft pole mount, UL and cUL listing heights, Control Options, FAQ (120 V limit, 208 V against 240 V, UL file E 29825, IP X4, quartz element life)Checked
  2. Infratech, Choosing your Infratech system chart (IN999, 2025): heat coverage area, mounting height and length by modelChecked
  3. Infratech, All Weather C-Series and CD-Series Installation, Use & Care Manual (IN038, July 2024), p. 6: average, cold and protected coverage by modelChecked
  4. Infratech, C-Series and CD-Series page: model wattage, length, amps at 240 V, UL/CUL/CE listingChecked
  5. Infratech, SL-Series page: model wattage, length, amps, mounting heights up to 10 ft, anodized aluminum housingChecked
  6. Infratech, Manufacturing page: every part made at its facility in Southern California, UL 508 listed control manufacturerChecked
  7. Infratech, Limited Product Warranty (PDF): three years from original date of purchase, original purchaser at original site, registration, exclusions, competitor controlsChecked
  8. Infratech, Controls page: Smart, Smart Plus and Simple Plus control packages, value controlsChecked
  9. Infratech, FAQs: IP X4, voltage, 208 V against 240 VChecked
  10. Bromic Heating, Tungsten Smart-Heat Electric product page: wattage, amps, IPX4, certification, heat area, minimum clearances, warranty, controlsChecked
  11. Bromic Heating, Tungsten Smart-Heat Electric Installation, Instruction and Service Manual (US): hard wiring, clearances, heater spacing, heat area, mounting options, outdoor installationChecked
  12. Bromic Heating, Product Cut Sheet, Tungsten Smart-Heat Electric: wattage, current, heat area, minimum floor clearance, IPX4Checked
  13. Bromic Heating, Platinum Smart-Heat Electric product page: wattage, amps, heat area, certification, warranty, mountingChecked
  14. Bromic Heating, Platinum Smart-Heat Electric Marine product page: IPX5, five-year land-based warrantyChecked
  15. Bromic Heating, Product Cut Sheet, Platinum Smart-Heat Electric and Marine: wattage, current, heat area, IP rating, certification, recess kitsChecked
  16. Bromic Heating, Platinum Smart-Heat Electric Installation, Instruction and Service Manual (US, v4): IPX4 and IPX5, 3 ft clearance, heater spacing, mounting height, rain exposureChecked
  17. Bromic Heating, Cobalt Smart-Heat Electric product page: wattage, amps, quartz elements, IPX4, warrantyChecked
  18. Bromic Heating, Product Cut Sheet, Cobalt Smart-Heat Electric: heat area, minimum floor clearance, IPX4, certificationChecked
  19. Bromic Heating, Cobalt Smart-Heat Electric Installation, Instruction and Service Manual (US): heat area, soft glow element, outdoor installationChecked
  20. Bromic Heating, Eclipse Smart-Heat Electric product page: wattage, amps, LED, mounting poles, certification, warrantyChecked
  21. Bromic Heating, Product Cut Sheet, Eclipse Smart-Heat Electric: heat area, minimum floor clearance, IP54, three heat settingsChecked
  22. Bromic Heating, Warranty page: terms by line, original owner only, replacement heater or part, owner pays labor and shippingChecked
  23. Bromic Heating, Affinity Smart-Heat controllers (Controls page): on/off and dimmer series, 1 percent increments, app, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, timers, schedules, voice controlChecked
  24. Heatstrip, Classic (X-THHUS-A) Product Manual, Rev 6: specifications, country of manufacture, coverage by exposure, installation requirements, clearances, warranty terms for international customersChecked
  25. Heatstrip, Intense with Remote and App Control (X-THBBA) Product Manual, Rev 6: specifications, carbon filament element, IPX5, mounting heights, outdoor useChecked
  26. Heatstrip, Enhance with Remote and App Control (X-THGBA) Product Manual, Rev 6: specifications, carbon filament element, Schott glass face, IPX5, mounting heights, plug (2,400 W) and hardwired (3,200 W) versionsChecked
  27. Heatstrip, 2025 US Brochure: Classic, Intense, Enhance and Max DC Commercial specifications, warranty, three heat levels and 0 to 24 hour timer on remote and app models, mounting heights (Classic maximum 3.0 m on its product pages)Checked
  28. Heatstrip, Classic product page: with and without Remote and App control, warrantyChecked
  29. Heatstrip, Max DC Commercial product page: models, amps, IPX5, coverage table (labeled outdoor exposed) and text (outdoor enclosed), mounting heights, warrantyChecked
  30. Heatstrip, About Heatstrip page: designed, engineered and supplied in AustraliaChecked

About the Author

James Darren Writes the Firepit HQ guides on fire features, fuel and fire codes. Every figure in them is cited to its source with the date it was checked.

Get the Launch List

One email when the store opens.

You will get one email to confirm your address and one when the store opens. Unsubscribe any time. Details are in our privacy policy.