A natural gas patio heater needs a fixed gas line from your meter, sized for its rated input by a licensed gas fitter, with a shutoff valve and a code-approved connection at the heater. Some models also need power: Bromic's wall and ceiling heater lists 110 V, and Heatstrip's wall heater runs its igniter on an AA battery. It is bought as a natural gas model, because two of the three makers covered here say not to convert it in the field.
This guide reads three makers' documents, the 2024 model fuel gas and fire codes, and one federal unit table. It does not rank heaters, and Firepit HQ has not tested any of them. It names no pipe size, because that depends on your load, your run and your code, and the gas line sizing calculator shows the method.
What Three Makers Publish for Natural Gas
Heater, Rated input, Natural gas version, Power, Gas connection
Bromic Tungsten 300
- Rated input
- 26,000 Btu/h
- Natural gas version
- Separate model, "Use Natural Gas Only"
- Power
- 110 V, under 2 A
- Gas connection
- 1/2 in. NPT female inlet on the control box
Bromic Tungsten 500
- Rated input
- 43,000 Btu/h
- Natural gas version
- Separate model
- Power
- 110 V, under 2 A
- Gas connection
- Same
Heatstrip X-DGR32WNG
- Rated input
- 32,225 Btu/h
- Natural gas version
- Natural gas only model
- Power
- AA battery
- Gas connection
- 12 ft hose with quick-disconnect, regulator supplied
Lava Heat Italia 2G, Lava Lite, Capri
- Rated input
- 66,000, 56,000 and 42,000 Btu/h
- Natural gas version
- "LP or natural gas," set at order
- Power
- Not stated
- Gas connection
- Flexible stainless connector with quick-disconnect
Sources: Bromic manual pp. 5, 6 and 12 and cut sheet; Heatstrip manual pp. 6, 10 and 12; Lava Heat Italia Positano page and catalog pp. 9 and 16. Checked 2026-10-20.
These are the three makers whose natural gas heater documents were read for this guide. Other makers publish their own.
How the Gas Line Gets Sized
The fuel gas code starts from demand. The 2024 International Fuel Gas Code (IFGC) says piping must supply enough gas to meet maximum demand, at no less than the minimum supply pressure each appliance requires (402.1). The load for sizing is the sum of the maximum input of the appliances served, assuming all of them could run at once, adjusted for altitude above 2,000 feet (402.2).
Two Bromic Tungsten 500 heaters on one line are 86,000 Btu/h before anything else is added. A grill, a fire table or a second zone goes on top of that number. The guide to what a natural gas fire pit needs covers a fire pit's side of a shared line. The natural gas versus propane guide for fire pits has the pipe capacity tables for the fire feature side, and the calculator takes the combined load.
For a sense of volume, the U.S. Energy Information Administration puts one cubic foot of natural gas at 1,036 Btu. Dividing each rated input by that gives about 25.1 cubic feet per hour for the Bromic 300, 41.5 for the Bromic 500 and 31.1 for the Heatstrip. That is arithmetic for context. A fitter sizes from your code and your utility's supply.
Supply pressure matters as much as pipe size. Bromic's natural gas models list a minimum inlet pressure of 6 in. w.c. and a maximum of 14 in. w.c., and the manual says to fit a separate pressure reducing regulator if line pressure exceeds 14. Its troubleshooting table lists supply piping that is too small as a cause of low burner tile temperature. Heatstrip supplies a regulator for its natural gas heater and says the unit and regulator operate on the outlet pressure printed in its manual.
Your fitter works from the code edition your jurisdiction adopted, which may not be 2024. The state fire code library is the place to start on state rules, and your building department knows which edition applies locally.
Shutoff Valve, Connector and Hose
The 2024 IFGC requires each appliance to have a shutoff valve (409.5). In the general case it sits within 6 ft of the appliance and upstream of the union, connector or quick disconnect it serves (409.5.1). The code lists the ways to connect an appliance in 411.1, including rigid pipe, listed outdoor appliance connectors, listed quick-disconnect devices used with listed connectors, and listed outdoor gas hose connectors used to connect portable outdoor appliances. For appliance fuel connectors, one is allowed per appliance, up to 6 ft overall, with an exception for rigid pipe (411.1.3.1).
The makers describe their own hardware. Bromic fits a manual isolating valve to the control box at the factory, and the supply connects to the box's 1/2 in. NPT female inlet. The CSA approved flexible connector Bromic supplies runs inside the mounting arm, from the control housing to the heater. Heatstrip says to install a shutoff valve outdoors, after the gas pipe exits the outside wall and before the quick-disconnect hose, or before the line enters the ground. It supplies a 12 ft natural gas hose.
That hose is longer than the 6 ft limit the code sets for appliance fuel connectors. The code treats outdoor gas hose connectors as a separate method, written for portable outdoor appliances, and the Heatstrip manual does not say which standard its hose is listed to. Whether the hose is acceptable on a wall-mounted heater is a question for the fitter and the building department. Confirm the arrangement before the heater goes up.
Both manuals also tell the installer to isolate the heater during pressure testing of the gas piping. Bromic and Heatstrip say the heater and its shutoff valve must be disconnected from the supply for tests above 1/2 psi, and isolated by closing its shutoff valve at or below 1/2 psi. This is why the valve has to be there and has to be reachable.
Does a Natural Gas Patio Heater Need Electricity?
Some do. A gas flame still needs something to light it and watch it.
- Bromic: the Tungsten Gas lists 110 V and under 2 A. It comes with a three-prong grounded plug and a 36 in. cord and can be plugged into a grounded receptacle or wired in by an authorized electrician. It has no on/off switch of its own, so the manual says to control it from the power supply.
- Heatstrip: the wall-mounted natural gas heater lights by a pull tab with a click, and the hardware pack includes an AA battery. Its troubleshooting table lists replacing the battery as a fix when the igniter does not spark.
- Lava Heat Italia: the Positano page lists electronic ignition on the Lava Lite and Capri and touch start with a remote on the 2G. It does not say what supplies the power, so ask before you plan an outlet.
Can You Convert a Propane Heater to Natural Gas?
The three makers point the other way.
Heatstrip's manual warns that natural gas models must be used with natural gas only and that "any attempt to convert the heater from one fuel type to another is extremely hazardous and will void the warranty." Lava Heat Italia's catalog says the change between propane and natural gas is the orifice, the regulator and the line, specified at order and not converted in the field, and that units are not field-convertible in either direction.
Bromic's manual lists propane and natural gas as separate models with different orifices, 0.85 mm for propane and 1.3 mm for natural gas, and marks the propane models "Propane Gas (LPG) Only." It prints no conversion procedure. Its troubleshooting table lists "wrong gas supplied to heater" as a cause of carbon on the burner tile.
None of the three documents describes a conversion kit. Some fire pit makers sell them, and the fire pit conversion section shows how those work. A heater is a different appliance with its own listing, so the answer for a heater comes from its maker. If you own a propane heater and want natural gas, ask the maker in writing before anyone opens it.
Where a Natural Gas Heater Can Go
Open air is the rule, and the makers word it the same way. Bromic allows a roof over no more than two walls, or more than two walls if at least 25 percent of the total wall area is completely open and at least 30 percent of the remaining wall area is open and unrestricted. Heatstrip prints the same three tests and adds that on a balcony at least 20 percent of the total wall area must stay open and unrestricted. Both want the heater protected from rain.
Heatstrip's warnings page is stricter than its location page. It says not to use the heater under any overhead and never in a garage, porch, shed, breezeway or other enclosed area. Its clearance diagram and brochure both list 500 mm of overhead clearance with the standard reflector, so the warnings page and the clearance data disagree. Ask Heatstrip which applies before you put the heater under a roof. Outdoor heaters for covered patios walks through the open wall arithmetic.
Maker and model, Above the heater, To the side, Minimum mounting height
Bromic Tungsten, no heat shield
- Above the heater
- 3 ft
- To the side
- 3 ft
- Minimum mounting height
- 8 ft (cut sheet: 96 in. floor clearance)
Bromic Tungsten, with heat shield
- Above the heater
- 14 in.
- To the side
- 3 ft
- Minimum mounting height
- 8 ft
Heatstrip X-DGR32WNG
- Above the heater
- 500 mm (20 in.); 300 mm (12 in.) with the optional shield
- To the side
- 1,000 mm (40 in.)
- Minimum mounting height
- 2,000 mm (79 in.)
Lava Heat Italia Positano
- Above the heater
- 24 in.
- To the side
- 24 in. on the Positano page; 36 in. on Lava's troubleshooting page
- Minimum mounting height
- Freestanding, ceiling 8 ft 0.5 in. to 9 ft 8.5 in.
Sources: Bromic manual p. 7 and cut sheet; Heatstrip manual p. 6; Lava Heat Italia Positano page and troubleshooting page. Lava's two pages give different side distances, so confirm which applies with the maker. Checked 2026-10-20.
Heatstrip's warnings also say to use the heater at least 3 ft from any wall or surface and from combustible items such as vinyl or wood siding, which a wall-mounted heater cannot meet against its own wall as that line is worded. Read it with the clearance diagram and ask the maker.
The fire code's outdoor heater section is written for portable appliances. The 2024 International Fire Code (IFC) applies Chapter 41 to mobile and portable equipment used for temporary heating (4101.1). Section 4103.1.2 covers portable outdoor gas-fired heating appliances, sets 5 ft from buildings (4103.1.2.1.2), and allows only listed appliances that use a fuel gas container integral to the appliance (4103.1.2.2.1). A heater fixed to a wall and piped to the meter has no container, so on that reading the manual and the fuel gas code carry the weight. Your fire official decides how your jurisdiction reads it.
Wall or Ceiling Mounting
Both fixed mounts need the structure to carry the load. Bromic lists the Tungsten 300 at 33 lb and the 500 at 44 lb, calls for M8 flush head masonry anchors or equivalent in brick, or screws at least 60 mm long in timber, and says the anchoring must support the heater and any other load. Its wall bracket sets 0, 10 or 20 degrees, and a ceiling pole kit is also in the manual. Heatstrip's brochure lists the wall heater at 25 lb, a ceiling mount extension pole that lowers it or hangs it from a ceiling, and a recommended minimum mounting height of 6.5 ft with an 11.5 ft maximum outdoors.
How much heat a mount delivers is a sizing question. The BTU calculator and the guide to how many BTUs a patio heater needs cover it. Bromic's cut sheet lists 160 sq ft for the 300 and 215 sq ft for the 500 in ideal conditions. Heatstrip's brochure lists 172 sq ft. Compare those on your own exposure, and see how to choose a patio heater for the wider decision.
Who Does What
- Gas fitter: the supply line, shutoff valve, connector, leak test and any permit. Bromic requires that gas supply work be done by trained and authorized persons and that all connections be leak tested by an authorized person before use.
- Electrician: wiring for any model with a power supply, where the plug and receptacle are not enough. Bromic says electrical connections must be completed by trained and authorized electrical technicians only.
- You: inspect the hose before each use, keep the area clear of combustibles and have the heater inspected at least yearly by a qualified service person, which both Bromic and Heatstrip ask for.
Permit and licensing rules are local. Ask your building department before work starts, and check your local code and the appliance's installation manual.
What to Check Before You Buy
- The fuel version: a natural gas model, ordered as one, with no plan to convert.
- The supply: the heater's rated input added to every appliance on the line, a minimum inlet pressure your supply meets, and a licensed gas fitter's sizing.
- The power: 110 V, a battery or an unstated requirement, and who wires it.
- The location: the maker's open-air rules, the clearance table above and your ceiling height.
- The connection: the maker's hose or connector, where the shutoff valve goes and what your inspector accepts.
- The paper: the manual for your exact model, your adopted code and your permit.
Common Questions
Does a natural gas patio heater need electricity?
It depends on the model. Bromic's Tungsten Gas lists 110 V and under 2 A, and plugs into a grounded three-prong receptacle or is wired by an authorized electrician. Heatstrip's wall-mounted natural gas heater ships with an AA battery for its igniter. Lava Heat Italia's Positano page lists electronic ignition and does not state a power requirement, so ask the maker before you plan the wiring.
Can you convert a propane patio heater to natural gas?
Treat it as no unless the maker says otherwise. Heatstrip's manual calls any attempt to convert one of its heaters from one fuel to another extremely hazardous and says it voids the warranty. Lava Heat Italia says its units are not field-convertible and that fuel is chosen at order. Bromic's manual lists natural gas and propane as separate models and prints no conversion procedure.
Do you need a licensed gas fitter to install a natural gas patio heater?
Bromic's manual requires installation by authorized persons under local code or the National Fuel Gas Code, and gas supply work by trained and authorized persons. Heatstrip asks for yearly inspection by a qualified service person. Who may do gas work, and whether a permit is needed, is set locally, so ask your building department and hire a licensed gas fitter.
How do you size a gas line for a patio heater?
The 2024 International Fuel Gas Code sizes piping for the sum of the maximum input of every appliance on the line, assuming all run at once, and adjusts for altitude above 2,000 feet. Add the heater's rated input to everything else on the run, enter the total and the pipe length in the gas line sizing tool, then have a licensed gas fitter confirm against your adopted code.
Can a natural gas patio heater go under a covered patio?
Only within the maker's open-air rules. Bromic allows a roof over no more than two walls, or more walls if 25 percent of the total wall area is completely open and 30 percent of the rest is open and unrestricted. Heatstrip's warnings say not to use its wall-mounted natural gas heater under any overhead and never in a garage, porch, shed or breezeway.
Sources
- Bromic Heating, Tungsten Smart-Heat Gas Installation, Instruction and Service Manual, Version 2.3 USA / Canadian: warnings (p. 4), specifications (p. 5), gas requirements and open-air enclosure rules (p. 6), clearances (p. 7), wall and ceiling mounting and the supplied flexible connector between the heater and its control housing (pp. 8 to 13), gas supply, power supply and leakage test (p. 12), relighting (p. 14), troubleshooting (p. 25)Checked
- Bromic Heating, Tungsten Smart-Heat Gas product cut sheet (Product-Cut-Sheet-Tungsten-Gas-1, page 2): fuel source, heat area, rated current, minimum floor clearance, certification, IP ratingChecked
- Bromic Heating, Tungsten Smart-Heat Gas product page: 26,000 and 43,000 BTU, natural gas or propane (LPG) selected as a gas type optionChecked
- Heatstrip, X-DGR32WNG Wall Mounted Radiant Gas Heater, Operation, Installation and Maintenance Manual (09/2025 v1): pre-assembly and installation codes (p. 3), outdoor area rules (p. 4), For Your Safety warnings including the fuel conversion warning (p. 5), specifications and clearance detail (p. 6), AA battery (pp. 7 and 10), natural gas connection and shutoff valve (p. 12), lighting (p. 14), troubleshooting (p. 15)Checked
- Heatstrip, 2025 US Brochure, Wall Mounted Gas (PDF pp. 20 and 21): 32,225 BTU, natural gas model, overhead clearance, ceiling mount extension pole, mounting heights, heating areaChecked
- Lava Heat Italia, Positano Flame Tower Collection page: 2G Tower, Lava Lite and Capri output, fuel (LP or natural gas), ignition, 24 in. clearances, instruction to confirm against local gas code and the installation manualChecked
- Lava Heat Italia, Troubleshooting page: minimum clearances of 36 in. from the sides and 24 in. from the top to combustible materialsChecked
- Lava Heat Italia, Positano Flame Tower Collection catalog (PDF): natural gas configured at order (PDF pp. 9 and 11) and Two fuels, One burner (PDF p. 16: not field-convertible, plumbed supply connector)Checked
- International Code Council, 2024 International Fuel Gas Code (Version 2.0), Chapter 4 Gas Piping Installations: Sections 401.1 (scope), 402.1 to 402.3 (sizing and maximum gas demand), 409.5 and 409.5.1 (appliance shutoff valve), 411.1 (connecting appliances, including item 8, outdoor gas hose connectors for portable outdoor appliances), 411.1.3 (appliance fuel connector installation) and 411.1.3.1 (connector length)Checked
- International Code Council, 2024 International Fire Code (Version 2.1), Chapter 41: Section 4101.1 (scope, mobile and portable equipment used for temporary heating and cooking) and Sections 4103.1.2 to 4103.1.2.2.1 (portable outdoor gas-fired heating appliances, 5 ft from buildings, listing of appliances with an integral fuel gas container)Checked
- U.S. Energy Information Administration, Energy Explained, Units and calculators: 1 cubic foot of natural gas = 1,036 BtuChecked
About the Author
James Darren Writes the Firepit HQ guides on fire features, fuel and fire codes. Every figure in them is cited to its source with the date it was checked.





